2022 Candidates and Issues

Democratic Candidates for the November 8, 2022 Election

(Click on the Candidate Name for More Information)

Arizona Statewide

U.S. Senate – Mark Kelly

Governor—Katie Hobbs

Attorney General—Kris Mayes

Secretary of State—Adrian Fontes 

State Treasurer–Martin Quezada 

Superintendent of Public Instruction—Kathy Hoffman

Arizona Corporation Commission (vote for two)—Sandra D. Kennedy (Incumbent) and Lauren Kuby

Congressional District 6

U.S. Representative–Kirsten Engel

Congressional District 7

U.S. Representative–Kyle Nitschke

Legislative District 19 

State Senate—no Democratic candidate

State Representative—Sanda Clark (vote for only one!)

Legislative District 21

State Senate—Rosanna Gabaldón

State Representative (vote for two)–Consuelo Hernandez and Stephanie Stahl Hamilton

Continental School Board (non-partisan)

Mike Norman

Pima Community College Governing Board (non-partisan, Pima County District 2)

Demion Clinco (incumbent)

Referendums and Initiatives

There will be ten (10) initiatives and referrals on the November 8, 2022 ballot: three (3) Legislatively Referred State Statutes (LRSS); five (5) Legislatively Referred Constitutional Amendments (LRCA); and, two (2) Citizens Initiated State Statutes (CISS). The Green Valley Board reviewed all of these propositions.

Vote YES on these propositions:

Prop 209 Protection from Predatory Debt This initiative would increase the levels of protection that currently exist for persons facing monumental personal debt. It also limits to 3% the amount of interest on medical debt.

Prop 211 Voter’s Right to Know AKA Campaign Finance, Dark Money. This statute, if passed, would end the “dark money” (money laundering) in campaigns.

Prop. 308, In State Tuition for Non-Citizen Residents Measure Repeals provisions of Proposition 300 (passed in 2006) to allow in-state tuition for non-citizen residents.

Prop 310 Sales Tax for Fire District Funding Measure Creates a 0.1% sales tax for 20 years to fund Arizona’s fire districts.

Click HERE to view details on all the propositions.


Vote NO on these Judges

William G. Montgomery, Arizona Supreme Court
Cynthia J. Bailey, Court of Appeals, Division 1

Click HERE for details on judge recommendations (from Civic Engagement Beyond Voting)

Other Resources

Election Volunteer Opportunities

What’s on your ballot, a progressive guide based on your address:


Civic Engagement Beyond Voting: